Your Councillors by Ward

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and these take place on a regular basis.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

There are 36 Councillors elected to Barrow Borough Council. Borough Councillors tend to deal with issues around council housing, planning, licensing, refuse collection, the local services and local environment.

To find your councillor please use the below links:

 Barrow Island


 Dalton North

 Dalton South






  • Cllr Therese Assouad



    Deputy Mayor and Lead Member for Climate Emergency

  • Cllr Iain Mooney



    Lead Member for Health and Well-Being

  • Cllr Lee Roberts



    Deputy Leader of the Council and the Labour Group and Lead Member for Housing Strategy and Homelessness (Excluding Housing Stock), as well as Economic Development and Strategic Partnerships and Human Resources



 Walney North

 Walney South