Your Councillors

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and these take place on a regular basis.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

There are 36 Councillors elected to Barrow Borough Council. Borough Councillors tend to deal with issues around council housing, planning, licensing, refuse collection, the local services and local environment.

To find your councillor please use the below links:

Councillor
Photograph Councillor Political party Ward
photo of Cllr Therese Assouad

Cllr Therese Assouad

Nominated Official Spokesperson for Children and Young People and Leisure and Tourism

Home: 01229 824557

Home mobile: 07745 895 574

Work: tassouad@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Parkside
photo of Cllr Des Barlow

Cllr Des Barlow

Nominated Official Spokesperson for Health and Safety

4A Combe View, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 3TA

Home: 01229 472842

Work: dbarlow@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Walney North
photo of Cllr Trevor Biggins

Cllr Trevor Biggins

4 Frederick Street, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA13 9TL

Home: 01229 825517

Home mobile: 0752 5077682

Work: tabiggins@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Central
photo of Cllr Shaun Blezard

Cllr Shaun Blezard

Nominated Official Spokesperson for Media and Wildlife, Heritage and Culture

63 Cleator Street, Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA15 8RU

Home mobile: 0774 3822114

Work: sblezard@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Dalton South
photo of Cllr Derek Brook

Cllr Derek Brook

Nominated Official Spokesperson for Community Development and Sport

40 Victoria Road, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 5JU

Home: 01229 835725

Home mobile: 07514221517

Work: dbrook@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Ormsgill
photo of Cllr Mark Burley

Cllr Mark Burley

28 Middleton Avenue, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA13 9HN

Home: 01229 832498

Home mobile: 07950 752 890

Work: mburley@barrowbc.gov.uk

Conservative Newbarns
photo of Cllr Anne Burns

Cllr Anne Burns

10 Gilpin Walk, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 3UP

Home: 01229 471824

Home mobile: 0796 6641382

Work: aburns@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Hindpool
photo of Cllr Tony Callister

Cllr Tony Callister

Nominated Official Spokesperson for Licensing and Public Protection Services and Sport

8 Beverley Avenue, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 5LL

Home mobile: 07789 773122

Work: acallister@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Walney North
photo of Cllr Frank Cassidy

Cllr Frank Cassidy

Nominated Official Spokesperson for Media

9 Gladstone Terrace, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 4HR

Home: 01229837510

Home mobile: 07974078814

Work: fcassidy@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Walney South
photo of Cllr Daniel Edwards

Cllr Daniel Edwards

32 Victoria Street, Askam-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA16 7BX

Home mobile: 07890 574 743

Work: dedwards@barrowbc.gov.uk

Conservative Dalton North
photo of Cllr Hazel Edwards

Cllr Hazel Edwards

Leader of the Conservative Group

16 Glenridding Drive, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 4PE

Home mobile: 07895 599 909

Work: hedwards@barrowbc.gov.uk

Conservative Hawcoat
photo of Cllr Derek Gawne

Cllr Derek Gawne

24 Newport Street, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 5DE

Home: 01229829405

Work: dgawne@barrowbc.gov.uk

Conservative Roosecote
photo of Cllr Les Hall

Cllr Les Hall

52 Fairfield Lane, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA13 9AL

Home mobile: 07783 022 267

Work: lhall@barrowbc.gov.uk

Conservative Newbarns
photo of Cllr Anita Husband

Cllr Anita Husband

Home: 01229 474044

Home mobile: 0771 3358066

Work: aghusband@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Walney North
photo of Cllr Allison Johnston

Cllr Allison Johnston

5 Teasdale Road, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 3SF

Home: 01229470025

Home mobile: 07734364038

Work: ajohnston@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Barrow Island
photo of Cllr Wendy Maddox

Cllr Wendy Maddox

7 Garden Lea, Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA15 8PJ

Home: 01229 464815

Work: wemaddox@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Dalton South
photo of Cllr Rory McClure

Cllr Rory McClure

274 Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA13 9JJ

Home mobile: 07525590003

Work: rmcclure@barrowbc.gov.uk

Conservative Roosecote
photo of Cllr Wendy McClure

Cllr Wendy McClure

274 Abbey Road, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA13 9JJ

Home mobile: 07525590003

Work: wmcclure@barrowbc.gov.uk

Conservative Newbarns
photo of Cllr William McEwan

Cllr William McEwan

16 Sowerby Avenue, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA15 8NE

Home: 01229 811421

Home mobile: 07990851716

Work: wmcewan@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Ormsgill
photo of Cllr Martin McLeavy

Cllr Martin McLeavy

8 Barnes Avenue, Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA15 8NE

Home: 01229 465606

Home mobile: 07516921380

Work: mmcleavy@barrowbc.gov.uk

Conservative Roosecote
photo of Cllr Iain Mooney

Cllr Iain Mooney

Nominated Official Spokesperson for Health and Well-Being

20 Mill Street, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 1TN

Home mobile: 07922 422 111

Work: imooney@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Parkside
photo of Cllr Beverly Morgan

Cllr Beverly Morgan

Nominated Official Spokesperson for Children and Young People

44 Derbyshire Road, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 5NB

Home mobile: 07980 599 496

Work: bmorgan@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Ormsgill
photo of Cllr Steve Nott

Cllr Steve Nott

1 Lancaster Street, Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA15 8SD

Home mobile: 07833 088 594

Work: snott@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Dalton South
photo of Cllr Alan Pemberton

Cllr Alan Pemberton

37 Thorncliffe Road, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 5QA

Home: 01229 827185

Home mobile: 07891941382

Work: ajpemberton@barrowbc.gov.uk

Conservative Hawcoat
photo of Cllr Dave Pidduck

Cllr Dave Pidduck

98 Oxford Street, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 5QG

Home: 01229 829103

Home mobile: 07730314689

Work: dpidduck@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Hindpool
photo of Cllr Hayley Preston

Cllr Hayley Preston

Nominated Offical Spokespersn for Children and Young People and Equalities and Diversity

21 Durham Street, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA13 9SP

Home: 01229837363

Home mobile: 07854839219

Work: hpreston@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Risedale
photo of Cllr Lee Roberts

Cllr Lee Roberts

Deputy Leader of the Council and the Labour Group and Nominated Official Spokesperson for Human Resources

3 Medway Road, Barrow-inFurness, Cumbria, LA14 3LU

Work: lroberts@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Parkside
photo of Cllr Steve Robson

Cllr Steve Robson

Nominated Official Spokesperson for Environment and Planning

Home mobile: 07552 236 327

Work: srobson@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Central
photo of Cllr Sam Ronson

Cllr Sam Ronson

Conifers, Greystone Lane, Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA15 8PX

Home mobile: 07761489883

Work: sronson@barrowbc.gov.uk

Conservative Dalton North
photo of Cllr Debra Seward

Cllr Debra Seward

25 Kentmere Crescent, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 4NL

Home: 01229 430635

Home mobile: 07791 406313

Work: dmseward@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Risedale
photo of Cllr Ben Shirley

Cllr Ben Shirley

C/O Barrow & Furness Conservatives, 93 Market Street, Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA15 8DL

Home: 01229 466804

Home mobile: 07951 150 537

Work: bshirley@barrowbc.gov.uk

Conservative Dalton North
photo of Cllr Colin Thomson

Cllr Colin Thomson

3 Dover Street, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 3LE

Home: 01229 471862

Home mobile: 07901535401

Work: cthomson@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Walney South
photo of Cllr Ann Thomson

Cllr Ann Thomson

Leader of the Council and the Labour Group and Nominated Official Spokesperson for Economic Development/Regeneration and Environment and Planning

3 Holcroft Hill, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA13 9PH

Home: 01229 820025

Home mobile: 07845610889

Work: mathomson@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Hindpool
photo of Cllr Helen Wall

Cllr Helen Wall

Nominated Official Spokesperson for Wildlife, Heritage and Culture

41 Harrogate Street, Barrow-in-Furness, Cumbria, LA14 5NR

Home mobile: 07785632938

Work: hwall@barrowbc.gov.uk

Labour Walney South
photo of Cllr Roy Worthington

Cllr Roy Worthington

Low Roosebeck Farm, Meadow Lane, Roosebeck, Ulverston, LA12 0RF

Home mobile: 07795 159 916

Work: rworthington@barrowbc.gov.uk

Conservative Hawcoat